Just when gay Houston had settled into the long wait between gray February and the rainbowed-up June of Stonewall month, Pride Houston starts teasing its 2015 celebration and soliciting your votes.

On Thursday at Guava Lamp, the committee revealed its new logo and parade grand marshal nominees during a party that also honored its annual grant recipients. Less than a month after unmasking New Year's Eve, Pride revealed its new “Heroes” logo, which was designed by Art Institute student Nicholas Villasenor.

While the crowd was entertained by last year’s Pride Superstar Daniel Rosales, giant novelty checks representing big bucks were awarded. This year’s Celebration Grant recipients are OPT Youth, Aid Our Veterans, AIDS Foundation Houston, AssistHers, and the Elsik High School GSA. Big fat donations were picked up by Bering Omega Community Services ($4,000) and Houston Transgender Unity Committee ($1,500).

The biggest ongoing outcome of the party calls on the public to determine the 2015 Pride Houston parade marshals. Voting is now open to the public for grand marshals in three categories. Allied grand marshal nominees are Anna Eastmann and Jared Long. Female nominees are Britt Kornmann, Fran Watson, and Tamira “Augie” Augustine. Male nominees are Bob Briddick and Ryan Levy. Meet them all.

Photos by David Guerra Photography