imageZAMI honored community activists and the group’s new batch of scholarship recipients during a reception on Saturday.

The group for African-American lesbians packed Bellisima on Amsterdam Avenue for the 13th Annual Scholarship Brunch, which also featured the passionate tunes of singer Denita Odigie and readings from Linda Villarosa.

Ten community activists were honored for their work, including Aida Rentas, Anne Barr, Imani Evans, Darlene Hudson, Frances Andrews, Duncan Teague, Rev. Dr. Kathi Martin, Deepali Gokhale, Shirley Adams and Betty Couvertier.

The scholarship winners, who received awards of up to $2,000, include Dawn Robinson (Berkeley City College, Berkeley), Kendra Bryant (University of South Florida), Joshua Johnson (UC Berkeley School of Law), David Green (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Wisconsin, Sylvie Victoire (International Institute for Water/Environmental Engineering), Leicque Doanes (Georgia Perimeter College), Sarah Stefana Smith (Goddard College), Lewis Hamer (Harold Washington College), Yolo Akili (Yoga of India), Loc Vu (West Valley College), Kristin M. Brown (Florida State University), Jardyn D. Lake (Temple University), Tyaire Wilkerson (Barry University) and Jonelle Knox (Pace Law School).

ZAMI’s Audre Lorde Scholarship Fund was founded in 1995 by board chair Mary Anne Adams (photo) and awarded its first two scholarships two years later. Since then, it has awarded more than $145,000 in scholarships to openly gay and lesbian students of color.

View the Project Q Atlanta photo album from the event.