Georgia Equality endorses candidates in local, judicial races

Georgia Equality endorsed a slate of 12 candidates, including one LGBTQ one, in municipal and judicial races across the state and said each pick would usher “fairness into their office.”

The latest round of endorsements includes a single LGBTQ candidate: Curt Thompson (photo). The bisexual former state lawmaker is running for chair of the Gwinnett County Commission.  Gwinnett is Georgia's second-largest county.

"Each of these candidates believes in fairness and safety for LGBTQ Georgians, and if elected, will carry those beliefs with them into their office,” Jeff Graham, executive director of Georgia Equality, said in a press release announcing the endorsements. 

If he wins, Thompson would become the second openly LGBTQ member of the commission and its first-ever LGBTQ chair. He has picked up endorsements from the Victory Fund and several elected officials and leaders across the state, including three LGBTQ city councilmembers.

Thompson faces a crowded Democratic primary on June 9. Other candidates include Nicole Love Hendrickson, Andy Morgan, Desmond Nembhard and Lee Thompson, Jr.  The winner will face one of three Republicans – George Awuku, Marcia Neaton and David Post – in the November general election.

In April, Georgia Equality issued endorsements in state races. That slate of candidates included 10 LGBTQ incumbents and challengers. 

The full list of Georgia Equality’s primary endorsements in municipal and judicial races (D indicates Democrat: I indicates incumbent):

Democratic Primary Municipal Races

Cobb County Commission District 4: Monique Sheffield (D)

Dekalb County Commission District 1: Robert Patrick (D)

Dekalb County Commission District 6: Ted Terry (D)

Gwinnett County Commission Chair: Curt Thompson* (D)

Gwinnett County Commission District 3: Derrick Wilson (D)

Macon-Bibb District Attorney: David Cooke (D) (I)

Non-Partisan Municipal Races

Macon-Bibb County Commission District 5: Seth Clark

Non-Partisan Judicial Races

Chatham County Superior Court Judge (seat being vacated by Judge Bass): Lisa Colbert

DeKalb County Superior Court Judge (seat being vacated by Judge Seelinger): Aaron Chausmer

Fulton County Superior Court Judge (seat being vacated by Judge Russell): Melynee Leftridge Harris

Fulton County Superior Court Judge (seat currently held by Judge Rieder): Rebecca Rieder (I)

Gwinnett County Superior Court Judge (seat currently held by Judge Schrader): Kathy Schrader (I)

Photo by Patrick Saunders