Atlanta Pride introduced its diverse slate of 12 grand marshals for the Pride parade, toasting them during a reception on Tuesday in Midtown. 

Pride announced the grand marshals on June 9 but honored them publicly on Tuesday with a reception inside the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel. The dozen people and organizations – ranging from a former state lawmaker to transgender activists and an LGBT historian – will lead the Pride parade on Oct. 9. 

The grand marshals include Anne Barr, Simone Bell, Cheryl Courtney-Evans, David Hayward, For the Kid in All of Us, Leo Martinez, Out on Film, PFLAG Atlanta, Estrella Sanchez, Anneliese Singh, Southerners On New Ground and Solutions NOT Punishment Coalition.

“This year, among our grand marshals, we are so proud to name people organizations, and causes as diverse as the rainbow we represent," Jamie Fergerson (photo with Martinez), Atlanta Pride's executive director, said in announcing the grand marshal picks earlier this month. 

"We acknowledge the work of allies, immigrants, people of color led organizations, artists, transgender individuals, grassroots activists, and leaders in their professional fields. We honor people who have been in the struggle for decades and those who have answered recent and pressing calls for justice," she added.